Digital Volunteers Focused Commenting Assignment # 8 (Dec. 11-17)

Narrative Writing

NOTE:  This week’s assignment is nearly identical to last week’s assignment.  Students are continuing their work with personal narrative (story) writing.  We would greatly appreciate you providing another comment this week to your Comment Buddies, but just choosing a new Narrative post that you have not yet commented on.

This Week’s Commenting Time Frame

Please leave comments for your Comment Buddies between Friday, Dec. 11 and the evening of Thursday, Dec. 17th.  


This Week’s Blog Post to Provide Comment

Please provide comments to any of your Comment Buddies’ posts categorized, Narrative. Most students have 3-4 posts with this category.  You are welcome to choose from any of their Narrative posts.


 This Week’s Focus Points:  Narrative Writing

When leaving a comment, please do not feel that you need to address each of the focus points below.  One idea would be to compliment a couple of the points they did well, then provide ideas to make another focus point, or two, better.

  1. I can write a small moment story.
  2. I can write a catchy lead (beginning) that will grab the reader’s attention and make them want to read my story.
  3. I can use both simple and compound sentences.  I do not have any run-on sentences or fragments.
  4. I can use the “Think Out Loud” strategy to help “show”, and not just “tell”, my story. i.e. Telling = I was so sad.   vs.    Showing =  I remember thinking to myself, “Will I ever feel happy again?”
  5. I can use dialogue to show a conversation.
  6. Image Credit:  You will hopefully notice that students are working to make sure to give credit to images.  Please feel free to compliment them on this if you see it!

 Comment Example

The post

Screen Shot 2015-12-06 at 11.28.11 AM

Comment Example

Dear _____________,

Thank you for sharing this story.  You made me think about when I was a kid and got a really cool birthday present!

I notice that you really kept your story as a small moment.  I imagine you could have told a lot more about your birthday, but you did a great job on staying focused on the small moment of just opening the gift.

I wonder if you could make your lead even more catchy?  Have you thought about starting your first sentence with a think out loud or dialogue (maybe the one where your mom says, “Save the biggest one for last.”)?  It might grab my attention a little bit more and make me really want to read the rest!

Keep telling your stories!

Your Comment Buddy,

_____________________


  Commenting Guidelines

Screen Shot 2015-09-20 at 9.28.56 AM

About KonradGators4

4th grade teacher in MO
This entry was posted in 2015-2016 Year, Blogging, Digital Volunteers, PBL: Narrative Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please share your thoughts! Thank you.

